“Carol” sweeps Dorian Awards, Todd Haynes’ drama is Best Picture and LGBTQ film of the year

Rooney Mara, Todd Haynes, Cate Blanchet

In Cannes, Rooney Mara, director Todd Haynes and Cate Blanchett where the film “Carol” was also a hit.

When the Oscar nominations were announced last week, Carol was snubbed in the Best Picture and Best Director catgegories, but Dorian Awards, bestowed by the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) wasted no time in correcting the omission.

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA.org • Facebook • Twitter), comprised of over 130 professional critics and entertainment journalists nationwide, today released its choices for the best in movies and television of 2015.
This year, the 1950s-set lesbian romance Carol surprised with a rare GALECA sweep, with wins for Film of the Year, Director of the Year (Todd Haynes), Screenplay of the year (Phyllis Nagy) and LGBTQ Film of the Year. In addition, Cate Blanchett, star of the ‘50s-set lesbian romance, earned Film Performance of the Year — Actress for her titular turn. Haynes also was also hailed as Wilde Artist of the Year (named for the group’s patron saint Oscar Wilde). As for Film Performance of the Year — Actor, Leonardo DiCaprio for The Revenant prevailed. Blanchett previously won a Dorian Award for Blue Jasmine. 
Director Sean Baker’s Tangerine, the drama of a clique of transgender women navigating the mean streets of Hollywood, took Unsung Film of the Year, while George Miller’s Mad Max: Fury Road was deemed Visually Striking Film of the Year. Amy, the unvarnished account of the rise and fall of soulful singer Amy Winehouse, won Documentary of the Year. 
In television categories, Fargo and Orange is the Black tied for TV Drama of the Year. Transparent won for TV Comedy of the Year, with star Jeffrey Tambor winning his second Dorian for TV Performance of the Year — Actor. Empire’s Taraji P. Henson was victorious in the Actress category (her series landed as Campy TV Show of the Year).
Taking a stand in less traditional categories, GALECA members chose edgy comic and society button-pusher Amy Schumer (Trainwreck, Comedy Central’s Inside Amy Schumer) as Wilde Wit of the Year. Last Week Tonight with John Oliver won TV Current Affairs Show of the Year. Campy Flick victor: Magic Mike XXL.
GALECA’s annual, Hasty Pudding-esque Winners Toast is set for Sunday, March 6, in Los Angeles. Past GALECA toasts have drawn Lea DeLaria, Transparent’s Melora Hardin, famed marriage rights activists Jeff Carrillo and Paul Katami, The Comeback’s Robert Michael Morris and trailblazing actor Wilson Cruz.
The week previous, GALECA added actress Jane Fonda — veteran star of the film classics Klute, Coming Home, 9 to 5 as well as the past year’s Youth and ongoing Netflix comedy Grace and Frankie — to their Timeless Star list, a career achievement kudos that also includes Sir Ian McKellen, George Takei, Betty White, Chloris Leachman and Fonda’s Grace costar Lily Tomlin.
Here are the awards for 2016:

Film of the Year

Director of the Year
Todd Haynes, “Carol”

Film Actor of the Year
Leonardo Dicaprio, “The Revenant”

Film Actress of the Year
Cate Blanchett, “Carol”

LGBTQ Film of the Year

Foreign Language Film of the Year
“Son of Saul”

Screenplay of the Year

Documentary of the Year

Visually Striking Film of the Year
“Mad Max: Fury Road”

Unsung Film of the Year

Campy Flick of the Year
“Magic Mike XXL”

TV Drama of the Year
(TIE) “Fargo” & “Orange is the New Black”

TV Comedy of the Year

TV Actor of the Year
Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”

TV Actress of the Year
Taraji P. Henson, “Empire”

LGBTQ Show of the Year

Unsung TV Show of the Year

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Campy TV Show of the Year

TV Musical Performance of the Year
Aretha Franklin

The ‘We’re Wilde About You’ Rising Star Award
Alicia Vikander

Wilde Wit of the Year
Amy Schumer

Wilde Artist of the Year
Todd Haynes

Timeless Award
Jane Fonda (previously announced)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s